Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VCO Design / 555 oscillator

Status
Not open for further replies.

hamishg

I'm doing a university project on how sound is generated [in relation to modular synthesizers/analogue circuits]. So i've looked into the different modules of an analogue synth, and of course the Voltage Controlled Oscillator is one of the main focal points.

Firstly i must say I'm a novice when it comes to electronics...

I went out and got a solderless breadboard, a 555 timer IC, and some resistors and capacitors. I've got the following tester circuit going-

**broken link removed**

I hooked up a little 8ohm speaker to the output and can hear a continuous 'wail'. When i touch both resistors R1 and R2, this 'wail' goes up considerably in pitch. This tells me something about the relationship between the value of these resistors and the sound that is produced...

I want to implement a potentiometer instead of 2 separate resistors [R1 and R2] to have some sort of control over the frequency/pitch of the sound.

The desired outcome of my project would be to have a [controllable] sound generating circuit [with a frequency bandwidth that would be realistic for a synthesiser - i.e. within the 20Hz-20kHz range]. I have a signal, but I'd like to maximise my control over the sound of it - by integrating additional simple oscillator circuits [as a synth would have more than 1 oscillator], and/or simple filter/amplifier circuits.