Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TV Remote eating batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

swrlyhrly

I've only recently gotten into electronics and I have basic knowledge on how resistors, caps, diodes, and all that basic stuff works as well as a sort of understanding on logic gates and such.

For about the last year, my TV remote has drained fresh batteries within a week and rechargables in about 2-3 days (they're getting old). I opened up the remote and unsoldered one of the battery leads so that I could put my multimeter between the batteries and the solder point on the pcb. I was pulling .002 amps (2 milliamps right?) constantly and pulling .007 amps when pressing any of the buttons.

Another odd note was that one of the battery terminals was melted slightly into the plastic of the remote. I had to heat up the spring with my soldering iron to release it from the plastic.

Anyone have an idea on what to look for? I'm assuming that when not pushing any buttons i shouldn't be pulling any current at all or at least so little it wont even register. It shouldn't be pulling current I think to keep the tv codes stored because i've never had to reinput codes even when the batteries are out for days.

Thanks in advance for any help :)

Maybe someone put the batteries in backwards once and hence the melted battery terminal and partially damaged it. A good design should be able to handle that. Maybe yours isn't one of them.

In my TV I replace the alkaline s once a year.