Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trying to build a custom 7-segment display clock

Status
Not open for further replies.

lilsusboi89

I'm a beginner in electronics and circuitry, and for one of my first projects is to build a digital clock with 7-segment displays that shows the following 3 numbers in this specific way:

6 - without the "A" segment illuminated, meaning 6 only has 5 segments illuminated instead of the normal 6 segements that are illuminated. Making it look like a "b".

7 - with only segments A, B, and C illuminated.

9 - with segment "D" turned off, making it look like the 6 I mentioned above, but upside-down.

I'd also like it if the displays displayed the numbers in red.

The reason I want the numbers displayed in such a certain way is that it is asthetically pleasing to me, however, I cant find any microcontrollers that display the numbers this way, nor can I find a decent digital clock kit that displays the numbers this way.

If anyone knows of a microcontroller that displays the numbers this way, or knows of another method for me to achieve my goal, your help would be much appreciated. My end goal is a nice hand-made digital clock that I can put on my nightstand.

Thank you.

Any microcontroller can be programmed to do what you want. You just create a lookup table that converts the BCD value to the required 7 segment pattern. I have done a similar thing to simplify the wiring between the microcontroller pins and the segment pins on the display.

Les.