Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Trouble with Audio Output Selector Switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stalin828

Let me preface by saying I am a total noob at this stuff. I work at RadioShack and goof off with it when I am bored at work.

Anyway, I have a problem with my home computer. I have a soundcard that has 1 input and 1 output. However, going into that 1 input I constantly swap between my XBox360 and my microphone. And the 1 output is witness to a constant battle between my headphones and my speaker.

So, one day at work I decided to make a selector switch that I could just plug all of my stuff into and flip a couple switches to choose, instead of all the fuss and muss of pulling my computer out every time I needed to make the switch.

So, what I have is a black box with 2 1/8" TRS jacks on the back. They go to the microphone and headphone jack on my soundcard. On the front of the box is 4 1/8" TRS jacks. All the jacks are the standard open circuit style (when there is nothing plugged in the circuit is open, it is closed by the tip when a device is plugged in). Then I have 2 DPDT switches on the top (one for mic/xbox the other for headphone/speakers obviously).