Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Telephone cable - guidance

inthegarage

I've an old vintage telephone that requires a new cable to attach it to a wall with a RJ45 connector.
It has:
1 White.
2. Green.
3. Blue
4. Red

I've a new plug kit and that also mentioned these colours in that order.

I'm no expert in these things, but a typical NEW 2 pair 4 core wire seems to now have:

a-wire: WHITE-Blue, WHITE-Orange,
b-wire: BLUE-White, ORANGE-White,

Or similar.

Can I assume 1= a(1), 2 = a(2), 3 = b(1) and 4 = b(2)

Like I said I'm no expect, maybe someone can direct me to the correct cable, which may save time and discussion.

As usual cheers for your help!

You might have a look here:

and here:

However, it's perhaps a little late now?, as POTS is in the process of ending, being replaced by digital phone via the Internet - with your 'landline' phone then plugging in the router - I suspect an antique phone might require too much current from the telephone line?.

Can I assume 1= a(1), 2 = a(2), 3 = b(1) and 4 = b(2)

Like I said I'm no expect, maybe someone can direct me to the correct cable, which may save time and discussion.
The convention standard is that Blue & white pair go to the middle two contacts on an RJ, the orang & white to the next outer pair. That's normally on an RJ11 or RJ12 style connector with four contacts.

However, if it is actually an RJ45 (8 contact) with four wires starting at one side, it's not connected to any standard I've seen?