Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

solid state "throw switch"

Status
Not open for further replies.

tom86951

I am not an engineer, so bear with me. I am looking for a solid state device to switch between two signals -- I have two 0-5vdc sensors and am trying to find a device/circuit I can connect them both to, such that the output of the device/circuit is either one sensor or the other, depending on whether a third control signal is either high or low. I presume this is simple stuff, but I am a bit clueless. Thanks.

8-pin DIP Mosfet relay with NO and NC sections, available form Digikey for about $5US.

http://pewa.panasonic.com/pcsd/product/pmos/pdf_cat/aqw61_eh.pdf

Hook a resistor and the two LED's in series, and whatever logic to switch LEDs. Tie pins 6 and 8 together as output and 5 and 7 as the inputs. The on-resistance is 1Ω. Would that be a problem? I've used this with a 10 bit ADC with no problems.

SYE said:
Hi,
I think these are probably the sort of thing your looking for.

CD4066
74HC4316

Stig.

Those may be what I am looking for, but I am just too unfamiliar to see it. What I want is feed two 0-5vdc sensors into a circuit and have the circuit output the signal from one or the other sensor, depending on whether a third control line is either high or low. Do these chips do that? They looked more like on/off switches controlled by the control line, or am I missing it?

tom86951 said: