Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solenoids, right for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fafhrdd

Hello everyone.

I am new to robotics and how to get all the parts to work together to do what I want them to do. So please be easy on me, and I am sorry for any amount of ignorance on my part.

I am trying to get a part or device that will move up and down, when I want it or how fast I want it. I am not talking about the speed in which it goes up and down but the timing of when it goes up and down.

It will not support any weight, so I don't need something that can hold/lift 1 or more pounds. It just needs to move up and down. The smaller the better and does not need to have a large stroke or whatever it's called, just a few inch stroke (1 to 2 inches at most is needed).

I heard about Solenoids and single action or push/pull devices but I don't know if I need a push pull (since I want it to go up and down) or what not.

Any help would be greatly loved!!!

Sound like a solenoid is a possible solution.

What are you trying to build?

With a solenoid the "stroke" is how far it travels so how much stroke did you want?

Ron

Okay great, if a solenoid would work where would I look to get one? I did a google search and I get all these larger heavy duty ones that can lift 90 and up pounds or something like that.

As far as the stroke.... I only need something an inch.