Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Soldering question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mw52563

Hi
Hoping someone can help.. I'm replacing a part on a PCB board which has blown a leg off. I've never done set on before, do I need to clean it out or can I just solder on top?
Thanks
Mike
Screenshot_2020-04-30-14-03-58-082_com.miui.gallery.jpg

blown a leg off
? Looks more like it was ripped off mechanically.

The remaining pads need to be cleaned properly.... if you follow the damaged trace, it goes to the right hand pad of C19.
You could solder a new U6 on the PCB, then solder a jumper wire from pin 4 to the right hand pad of C19. (Along with adding a new C19)

Hi
Thanks for the reply, yeh blown off was the wrong words.. I had to replace a large capacitor in the middle and it was stuck to it. Do you know what C19 is?

Hi
Yeh just realised I must have broken it when I took U6 off. This is a picture of it before it broke. In regards to U6 I had a nightmare trying to identify it, it broke when i took it off. But I could just make out the 73711 and managed to work out it was the component ive ebay linked.
**broken link removed**
Regards
Mike

Attachments

• image1-5.jpg
    image1-5.jpg
    215.3 KB · Views: 103
  • 73711.jpg
    73711.jpg
    957.2 KB · Views: 113