Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Small Microphone/Speaker Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluethecow

I'm extremely new to building circuits etc, as I come from the high-level software world, so please don't flame me :).
I have a microphone and a speaker with plugs that connect to my computer's PCI sound card, and I want to build a small circuit to connect the two, separate of a PC, so that when sound goes into the microphone, it comes out from the speaker. I've read a bit about microphones and speakers and how they work, but I couldn't find much more information than that when searching, mostly because I'm not sure exactly what to search for. Can someone point me in the right direction?

You need a power amplifier to drive the speaker, a resistor to provide current to the microphone if it is an electret type and a battery or AC adapter for power.

Then if the microphone can hear the speaker they will howl due to acoustical feedback.

How loud do you want the speaker to be?

Thanks for your response.
I'm pretty sure I can find enough information to build the amplifier, but how can I figure out how much power I should provide to the microphone?
Also, how do I figure out if my microphone is electret or otherwise?

Thanks!

Last edited:
bluethecow said:
I'm pretty sure I can figure out enough to build the amplifier
An amplifier IC is the easiest, probably the cheapest and works the best.