Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Small code sequence - problem understanding how works (led's)

Status
Not open for further replies.

alinpion

Hello

I'm a beginner in mcu programming and I have a small problem understanding how the following code works:

Code:
unsigned cnt;                 // Define variable cnt

void interrupt() {
    cnt++;                    // Interrupt causes cnt to be incremented by 1
    TMR0 = 96;                // Timer TMR0 is returned its initial value
    INTCON = 0x20;            // Bit T0IE is set, bit T0IF is cleared
}

void main() {
    OPTION_REG = 0x84;        // Prescaler is assigned to timer TMR0
    ANSEL = 0;                // All I/O pins are configured as digital
    ANSELH = 0;
    TRISB = 0;                // All port B pins are configured as outputs
    PORTB = 0x0;              // Reset port B
    TMR0 = 96;                // Timer T0 counts from 96 to 255
    INTCON = 0xA0;            // Enable interrupt TMR0
    cnt = 0;                  // Variable cnt is assigned a 0

do {                      // Endless loop
        if (cnt == 400) {     // Increment port B after 400 interrupts
            PORTB = PORTB++;  // Increment number on port B by 1
            cnt = 0;          // Reset variable cnt
        }
    } while(1);
}

It's from mikroe and it's exlained but what I don't understand it's how the cnt is incremented up to 400 if he is assigned to 0 2 lines before and in the do loop the interrupt function isn't call ??