Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Small charge controller for 6 V lead-acid battery with a 6 V 3 W module

Status
Not open for further replies.

edresch

Hello everyone,

I will work on a project with some students on small solar lanterns for rural electrification. My area of studies is actually batteries (I'm a process engineer), but somehow I get always involved in electrical engineering, since I'm working in the renewables field.

Anyways, my university has some small PV modules (amorphous 3 W 6 V Voc) and some small lead-acid batteries (6V 1.2 Ah) and also some high power WLED's. I would like to develop a project with a small number of students where they can create a small circuit to charge the battery / power the LED. I found already some circuits, but most of them use 12V panels. Should I connect my panels in series then? Or is there a way to use the 6V modules to charge the batteries?

Thank you very much!

Welcome to ETO!
Post (using the 'Upload a file' button) the circuit(s) you propose to use and we can see what modifications, if any, would be needed.

To charge a 6V lead-acid, it requires ~7.3V.

The panel must put out substantial current at 7.3V. It takes a panel with an open-circuit voltage >10V to do that, so it will take two of your panels in-series...

Thank you for the replies!

I was thinking about a circuit like the following:

**broken link removed**

Or something even simpler like this:

**broken link removed**