Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simple PV low-power relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alby_K

Hi guys, I am new to all of this, in fact I started digging yesterday, so forgive my poor diagram :meh:.
Mission: I want to built a small solar powered light arrangement, that turns on automatically after dusk.
Currenctly I have battery packs (BP) hooked up to a solar pad (SP) via USB and there is a USB lamp that somebody can plug-in. Now I want to 'automate that', based on the following requirements:
1) everything is connected and no manual switching or pluggin-in has to be performed
2) the battery packs cannot be charged while being connected to a load
3) minimal power consumption of components

So I thought about connecting the 5Vout of the BP to a 5V relay (Photodiode is the signal) and then to a buck converter to finally power the usually 1.2V-battery-powered LED string lights. The relay runs NC mode and opens the circuit once it's sunny outside. However, the relay also has to close the SP-BP connected circuit once it's sunny and this is were my diagram has problems. I think I cannot connect both the SP and BP to the common terminal (can I?o_O).