Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Scoreboard Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

churd

One of my high school seniors has chosen to design a simple, inexpensive, portable scoreboard for displaying the score at a volleyball game. The mechanical part is coming along nicely, but I'm a little light on the electronics end, as I am new at using pics. I do however teach intro to digital electronics.

We would like to design a circuit that does the following:
  • Displays the score for Home and Away on two separate scoreboards (so both teams can see).
  • Each score board will have 2 2 digit 7seg displays so the score can go up to 99 to 99. Below is a crude image of what we think the setup will look like:

**broken link removed**

• Has two buttons for home, and two for away: 1 button increments the team's score by 1, one button decrements the team's score by one. (2 buttons each team, 1 up and 1 down) The score goes up or down by one each time the correct button is pressed.
  • Has a master reset button that zeros the displays.
  • It should be inexpensive, and easy to produce the circuit, and program.

I think the easiest way to do it is with a PIC, but maybe not. I am a hardware guy, not a software guy, and I will be learning PICS myself with this project. I am looking for ideas from the ground up. Should we use a PIC? What type? What other logic is needed? etc.....

Thanks in advance for any help!