Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RF Millivoltmeter

Status
Not open for further replies.

ramuna

Hi,
I would like to investigate some electrically short antennas in the HF to VHF region (5 - 200 MHz). Specifically, I would like to measure the antenna impedances as accurately as possible, compare the results to the NEC models etc. One crucial element for which I have very little knowledge of, is accurately measuring RF voltages. Basically, I'm looking for an RF millivoltmeter design. Bear in mind that these electrically short antennas will have a high to very high, absolute susceptance to conductance ratio, which makes accurate voltage measurement more important than otherwise. The methodology I am thinking of using is outlined here:
**broken link removed**
The above link, is part of webpage where Jim Tregellas VK5JST, gives details of his Aerial Analyser: **broken link removed**
In answer to the obvious question (why don't I just duplicate Jim's circuit ?): Jim's voltage measurement accuracy relies on (1) relatively high antenna conductances & low susceptances compared to my antennas (2) using relatively high feed voltages such that diode voltage drops are insignificant; I would like to get similar results with lower drive voltages.

Thanks in advance for advice & assistance in this quest.

Why do you want to test the antenna at low voltage? It seems high voltage is simple.

RonSimpson asked: Why do you want to test the antenna at low voltage? It seems high voltage is simple.