Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

relay help

Status
Not open for further replies.
jaj43123 said:
alright, im using this relay
https://www.newark.com/NewarkWebCom...p?x=0&Ntt=56f1024&Nty=1&N=4&y=0&Ntk=gensearch

its picture is like this
https://www.newark.com/product-details/text/eproc/Em/HTML/Images/Web1/47F1106-12.jpg

i have no experience with relays and need major help on how to hook this up. i need to hook it up to a battery that goes to a switch, then to the relay which goes onto a 555 timer and a buzzer. any help at all will be of major thanks.
what are you trying to do ?
i'm curious because there might be another way to do what you want..

ok so the door opening closes a switch..
switch starts 555 timer
if timer times out , then timer sends a pulse to relay which turns on buzzer ..is that about it??
what type of buzzer are you going to use?

pins 2 & 6 are your relay coil .
pins 1 & 14 are one end of your switch and 7 & 8 are the other end..

Have you noticed that the contacts of the relay you have chosen are normally closed?

yes, i thought that was what i needed for this project, as did three other people, all of which have bachlorettes in electronicity and electronics (dont know the exact term). should i be using a normally open?

That depends on what, exactly, you want to do with it.