Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Reference for electronic components

Status
Not open for further replies.

winterhunter

Hi,

I'm kind of new to electronics, and was wondering how do you manage to get a hold onto some kind of reference for ICs.

The problem that I'm now experiencing is that when I'm looking for a function (say a PLL IC), I search the internet and get (after some time) a list of possible components that could fit the application... When I then try to find those components on some local shops (again on the internet) they don't have the references that I've found in the internet, and since these shops only show you a list of component refs and prices (with no description whatsoever) I have to start the search again...

For example, I was searching for an IC to interface RS-232 to a PIC, and the reference I found in the net was the max232. When I looked into the shop's website, I had to browse : ICs-->M-->MAX to get a list of all ICs manufactured by MAXIM. As luck would have it, they did not have the 232 available, so I had to start looking for a replacement...

Is there any better way to do this? Are there any reference web sites where I can type "232" and get the corresponding list of ICs that do the job? Or type "PCF" and get a complete list of components beginning with PCF with a short description besides each (so I can compare faster with the available ones)?

Thanks for your help!