Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pulsing LED to Audio using a 2N2222 transistor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

skinind95

Hello,

I am a beginner to electronics and came up with this circuit on my own, so there's a good chance i've done it completely wrong. The circuit is supposed to pulse an LED to music, and it does this just fine for the first few seconds. After letting the circuit run for a short time, the LED will slowly start to dim, as if the volume of the input were decreasing. At first i thought that i was frying my LEDs, but they are just fine. Removing either the power, or the audio source and then replacing them will bring the LED back to full brightness.

Could someone explain to me why this would be, or a better way to design this circuit. (I have a very limited supply of components)

Here is the schematic of the circuit:
**broken link removed**
[This was my first time drawing a schematic, so things may be backwards. The transistor, Q1, is a 2N2222 NPN.]

Thank you in advance,
Travis

Look for colo(u)r organ circuits, they also do this job. The first thing i'm guessing is the input signal amplitude if it's just from an audio player or computer is going to be quite low... The other thing is the frequency, if you are playing music through it, it is going to be completely random and be flashing at rates too quick for your eyes to see...
These colour organs have filters to filter out certain frequencies and then activate the outputs...

Just a few suggestions...