Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Product design help needed... rotary switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lee Ash

Hi... My name is Lee, I own a company called Lash Creative which makes Bespoke Vaping devices. (Ecig stuff!) I am designing a new product at the moment which uses a DNA40 chipset.... this basically allows you to vary the power to a heating element... amongst other things. I am not an expert on electronics, I work with wood and metal, primarily on a lathe. The chip has a connection on the board for power up and a connection for power down... you would attach simple small momentary actuators and have them side by side. I would like to replace these with a rotating control... something that rotates both ways, infinitely and dials in the amount of power.... My question... is there such a thing? As I said, electronics is not my speciality, so any suggestions would be appreciated. Here is the DNA 40 chipset... top of the page.
**broken link removed**

Thanks Lee

yea, sort of.

This https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9117 is a rotary quadrature encoder, but it does not give you the outputs you need. The rotary encoder generally consists of detents; two signals 180 degrees out of phase; a push button; and sometimes an illuminated shaft (RGB LEDS are possible).