Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problems with a reasonably simple mosfet switch circuit. kinda noob here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gigaah

Diagram is attached. Its from multisim(electronics workbench).

The 3.7v voltage is a lithium polymer battery. When the switch is pressed current flows to the 1.5ohm load. My problem is. At some point the load is removed(unscrewed). and a battery charger is screwed in its place. Multisim shows the Mosfet conducts current back to the battery over thru the mosfet. I think this is called "reverse biasing". I really don't want this to happen. I only want the current to flow thru the diode when the charger is attatched. Inline with the mosfet There will be discharge protection for the battery. and inline with the diode there will be charge protection circuits.

The only way I've been able to test it is to flip the resisitor and the voltage source to test how the mosfet will act with the charger pushing current to the battery in the program. I'm kinda stuck. I can't really use a mechanical switch due to space contraints i'm unable to find a 3amp tactile switch so I thought a mosfet would be the ticket.

Even at that I'm not happy with having to use even a schotty diode to the charge protection at 3.7v even .2 v drop is something I want to avoid. Howver since the fets will conduct when reverse biased I'm not sure how to work it.

Can anyone help straighten me out here?

Attachments

• electro-tech mosfet1.jpg
    electro-tech mosfet1.jpg