Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Problem with external oscillator (PIC16F628A)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nomdomokunnom

Hi guys, I'm new to using microcontrollers so I'm probably missing something obvious here, but I'm planning on trying to use a PIC16F628A to start experimenting with USB communication, but I haven't used an external oscillator before so I thought I'd give it a try. I've connected a 12MHz crystal oscillator between pins 15 and 16 (OSC1 and OSC2), and connected both pins to ground via 22pF capacitors as recommended in a diagram I found online, but my simple test program isn't working (it worked when using the internal oscillator). Anyone have any ideas what's wrong?

I have the circuit set up in a breadboard, with LEDs between Vdd and PA1 and PB4 respectively, and I'm compiling my program with BoostC++ compiler and programming it using a pickit2.

When using the internal oscillator, the port A LED stayed on while the port B LED flicked on and off, as expected; with the external oscillator, neither LED ever lit.

My source code:

Code:
#include <system.h>
//#include "USB1.h"

#pragma DATA 0x2007, _BODEN_ON & _CP_OFF & _DATA_CP_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _WDT_OFF & _LVP_OFF & _MCLRE_ON & _XT_OSC

/*
class USBConnection
{

};
*/

void main()
 {
 clear_bit(trisa,1);
 clear_bit(trisb,4);

clear_bit(porta,1);
 set_bit(portb,4);

while(true)
  {
  clear_bit(portb,4);
  for(int i=0;i<5000;i++);
  set_bit(portb,4);
  for(i=0;i<5000;i++);
  }
 }