Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Supply for Tube Preamp

Status
Not open for further replies.

captainate

Hey guys,

I'm about to pull a couple of amplifier modules from an old radio console, and I'm wondering what power supply I should get. A friend recommended an "International Power linear supply" from Mouser, but I also need to know specifically which model to get. Needs to supply 310V? Which seems like a high number to me. I'm a bit of a noob, and will be consulting experts and getting the project fully inspected before applying mains power :)

Attached is a schematic of the project. It's a line amplifier, which I'll be converting into a microphone preamp. Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• Gates Program Amp.pdf
    98.6 KB · Views: 331
Yes, you need to supply 310Vdc (which is why I don't like working with tubes) for the B+ plate supply and 6.3Vac for the filament supply. You can determine the dc current required by calculating the voltage drop across the resistor feeding the plates and calculate the current through them from that. For example the current feeding the three tubes on the left is approximately (310V-290V) / 6800 = 2.94mA. The B+ current required by the output 12AU7's can be calculated from the current through the cathode resistor which is approximately 11V / 750Ω = 14.7mA. The total B+ supply current is thus about 18mA. You can look up the tube specs to determine how much filament current you will need.