Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Please! need to reverse polarity for 12v motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

standry

I am a beginner and i have this project.

I need help creating a system to reverse polarity on the motor in order to rotate CW then CCW at designated spots (top and bottom positions) .

12v aa battery powered motor with threaded shaft that needs rotate and go a certain distance, then verse direction and rotate to its start postion. I have it currently wired with a 3 position on/off/on manual switch. I need any help offered to have this motor rotate CW to its top position then rotate CCW to the bottom(start) position using relays/sensors/auto swithing/whatever.

the entire device will be enclosed.

Just not sure which path to take???

Thanks in advance.

Question:

The motor will run a distance turning a lead screw until it reaches a point. Then reverse and run back to its start position. Once the motor has done that will it repeat?

If the motor is to repeat and just continue to run out and in over and over again there are several ways to do it. One method would be to use a few SPDT micro switches as stops and have them drive relays that latch.

Motor polarity could also be controlled by an H Bridge. How much current does the motor draw? Using a H Bridge would likely be a good way to go with this. Limit switches toggle flip flops that drive the H Bridge.

Again, how much current? What did you have in mind?

Ron

Thanks for the reply.