Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noob help, science fair project for my kiddo

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfulls

I am a mechanical engineer by trade....so naturally I know nothing about electronics and circuits, and I need some guidance. My son has a science fair coming up, and I helped him come up with a project to enter. The idea is to test AA batteries for battery life. To do this, I was wanting to make a simple circuit that consisted of a battery (pretty sure Radio Shack has one of those battery packs with wires coming from the terminal ends), a light bulb to create a load to drain the battery, and a digital stop watch/timer that would count minutes and seconds. All of those wired in series so when the battery drains, the light and stopwatch/timer stops but retains the numbers. Actually, now that I think about it, my initial idea might not work because when the battery drains, the timer will shut off and lose the numbers.

So....I was going to ask where to find a timer/stopwatch that would work...but now I have to ask, not only that, but maybe a schematic or word description of a simple way to do this.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.