1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Noise when Playing music from computer to amplifier

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by camerart, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi,
    I have music on my computer, but when plugged into my stereo amplifier, I hear 'computer' noises, which spoil the music.
    When nothing is playing, I can here the computer 'thinking', especially when using the mouse.
    Can anyone offer a cure for this please?
    Camerart.
     
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,626
    Likes:
    697
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Try using an external (USB) sound 'card' instead of the internal one.
     
  3. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi N,
    Ok, i'll look for one.
    Why doesn't my two month old internal one work as inspected?
    C.
     
  4. dave miyares

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    -10


     
  5. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers User Extraordinaire Forum Supporter Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,805
    Likes:
    958
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    The sound card isn't dedicated to one app... When you run windows media player you will have "other" sounds amplified..

    Just as a tester... Download Winamp and try music via a different application.. It may be an application thing!!
     
  6. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes:
    1,277
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    If you right-click the speaker symbol in the system tray you should get a pop-up with a 'volume mixer' listed. Make sure all other sound sources except the wanted one are muted or set to minimum level in the mixer.
     
  7. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi I and A,
    I generally use VLC, but have Winamp also.
    even with no application running, there are noises.
    I found that moving to AUX and adjusting the settings including switching off/down system noises in 'Volume mixer' I am able to get acceptable results although it isn't HIFI quiet, especially when you bear in mind, that it isn't Vinyl on a turntable:)
    Thanks, C.
     
  8. dave miyares

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    -10


     
  9. crutschow

    crutschow Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,859
    Likes:
    515
    Location:
    L.A., USA Zulu -8
    What computer do you have?
    My HP desktop internal sound card has absolutely no noise and it goes to a good amp that drives a pair of high quality speakers.
    Sounds like maybe something's faulty with yours.
     
  10. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi C,
    The computer was built for me using a sound chip on an MSI Pro H110i PRO mother board.
    C.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  11. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,549
    Likes:
    162
    Are you plugging into the front jack or rear jack? I've never seen a computer where you can use the front jack because they pick up so much noise somehow.
     
  12. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi D,
    Front side also in the screen. All make noise.
    C.
     
  13. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,549
    Likes:
    162
    And the rear?
     
  14. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi D,
    Sorry my mistake. My computer only has connections at the side, rear and the screen.
    C.
     
  15. dknguyen

    dknguyen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,549
    Likes:
    162
    Well, if it's happening in your rear jack too then there's not much you can do. Either changing your the soundcard, mobo, speakers, or cable lengths. Or go with an external amp. Just a bad combination of equipment.
     
  16. unclejed613

    unclejed613 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes:
    148
    you might also try updating or reinstalling your audio driver software. also, try ferrite beads to isolate signals picked up on the audio cable.
     
  17. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi,
    The mystery unfolds!
    I tried filling in the manufacturers tech support questionnaire, which took some time, with all of the details, clicked send and got 'site busy try later' and the form re-set:banghead:

    A parcel arrived and my son said try this: An AV:LINK Ground loop isolator.
    I connected the leads through it to the AMP phonos, and the noises have disappeared. Brilliant.
    Then I tried removing it and still no noises.

    What was the problem, and what changed?
    C.
     
  18. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,423
    Likes:
    600
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    I was going to suggest a transformer ground-loop isolator in the audio path. We hams who connect audio to/from PC sound-cards to our transceivers found out twenty years ago that the chassis of the PC (the gnd side of the RCA jack) is hot with common-mode PC related garbage, including crap from the switching power supply in the PC. The ground-loop isolator effectively breaks the path for the common-mode noise that would otherwise travel along the shield of the audio cable.
     
  19. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi M,
    That's fine, but can you give any explanation, as to why even with the GLI removed the noises are now not there?

    Do you know what the difference is between a GLI and an isolating transformer?
    C.
     
  20. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,423
    Likes:
    600
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    No clue.
    A GLI is a marketing term. Inside is a transformer with isolated windings. It takes two independent transformers to pass stereo.
     
  21. camerart

    camerart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes:
    11
    Location:
    Dorset UK.
    Hi M,
    Previously, I had tried one track with an isolating transformer, but it didn't cure the noises.

    The name GLI, includes the word ground, so I assume something has grounded coincidentally while I was playing around. Note, I had also tried a ground wire to the computer then to the amp, with no benefit.
    C
     
  22. MikeMl

    MikeMl Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,423
    Likes:
    600
    Location:
    AZ 86334
    Assuming that you have a stereo amp, you will need two isolation transformers. If you connect just one, there is still a DC Ohmic (Galvanic) connection between the chassis of the PC and the chassis of the audio amp. Isolation transformers work by breaking the Galvanic common-mode path, but letting audio pass through the magnetic flux in the transformer.

    GLI=Ground Loop Isolator=Common-mode-path-breaker.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice