Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie questions about microcontrollers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lac

Hello there!

I'm very new to this, but I've decided that i want to make my own project with blinking leds, beeping speakers etc. etc. But before i can do this I need to gather parts, so now I need to select a microcontroller and a device programmer. I have, as allready said, very little knowledge about this, so explain things easy for me :wink: .

So I would generaly like to know wich microcontroller is the best for such basic tasks, knowing about the most popular and the pros and cons about each of them wouldn't hurt either :D And along with a microcontroller i think i will need a programmer. Cheaper the better, but I think it would be nice if it was compatible with at least more chips than just one.

So thanks in advance! Hope i get to decide!
Lac

Hi,
Good places to start is at and also http://www.Talkingelectronics.com
Both these sites have excellent tutorials on PIC micros. I am a newbie myself and have found these sites of great value.
Also good idea to read through the posts in this very forum. All the categories are VERY informative and there is a wealth of information on PIC programming and other PIC related subjects, especially under micro controllers.
Enjoy your quest! It is great fun.
Barry.
PS I am obviously biased towards PIC :lol:

I'm obviously biased towards PIC's as well :lol: