Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie needs help identifying these chips...

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdotwire7

Can someone please tell me what these chips are called? Or what type of chips they are? What are those 7 pin wire thingys? I am new to this, and these are of interest. Can someone lead me to the direction of where I need to go, to learn about these guys. Thanks.

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Hi,

the 7-pin thingy looks like an SD-card reader/writer.

Boncuk

The chips or "little black rectangles" as they're technically referred to are called ICs which stands for Integrated Circuit and basically, they can do anything. There are literally thousands if not hundreds of thousands of different ICs out there. Some are standard and very common, others are custom built for a very specific need or purpose. To ask what the chips do without anymore information is like asking, "What does a machine do". If you want more information of the specific ICs in your picture then your best best it to read the part numbers off the top of them and do a search on the interwebs. The other non-IC components are likely resistors, capacitors, diodes, transistors, etc. If you can take a better picture of the circuit board without the wires obstructing all the components, I might be able to help you identify what type some of the other components are.

Last edited: