Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Rookie needs help with keypad circuit design

ac-dc

I need help with circuit design for a door lock keypad.
Currently there is a door lock that uses MiFare proximity cards only and the mfgr discontinued the version that had both prox and keypad.
So my hack is to add 3 mom contact buttons and a circuit to interrupt the connection between the existing prox pcb and actuator lock/unlock motor. (DPDT reed relay I am thinking)

I am an electronics rookie, conversant in discreet components and handy at circuit construction, but have a hard time spelling IC..

Here are some of the design requirements:
I have physical space inside the door lock of about 4 AA batteries rafted together to put all this in.
Needs to be able to run on 3 AA batteries, with very low standby current draw.
Does not have to be high security, a 4 digit code is fine (could even be 3 worst case) and does not have to be changeable.
Lock actuator is a DC motor that spins 1 direction once unlocked, then reverse polarity 4 seconds later after you have rotated door lever to lock again. So my circuit has to do this also.
Motor runs on 4.5v from batteries.
I am sure I have forgotten something, but just ask.

Thanks in advance, James

Reed relays have very fragile contact, the are not good for things that may take current surges.
I'd suggest two conventional miniature DPDT relays; they can be smaller than reed relays.