Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with LED strobe circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

jetfixr

I am building a large scale model airplane, and I am in need of help with a circuit for the strobe lights. I want to make them wide angle white LED's. I have some electronics experience, but very little with timers and LED's. I am able to make one work, but the pattern on the full scale airplane is different. There are 3 lights involved. I need the wing tips to flash first 3 times at about a 3-4 hz rate, then I need the tail to flash 3 times at the same rate. There needs to be somewhere between .5 - 1 second between the wings and tail. Please help if able. Thanks.

You could do it with discrete logic, namely:
A pair of 555 timers, on for the 3 Hz blinking, the other for the 1 second delay
A counter, possibly a 4017, to count three flashes and reset.
A flip-flop, to steer the flash sequence between wings and tail.
and several gates to perform the glue logic for all of the above.
We are talking 5 or 6 IC packages, perhaps.

However......How proficient are you with microcontrollers?
With a microcontroller, the code for the flash sequence should be a piece of cake.

Last edited: