Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help! PIC16F877A Port Initialization

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klitzie

I just want to ask how to correctly initialize a PORT in PIC16F877a cause its my first time using usually i used PIC16F84A due to more inputs a shift to pic16f877a but my problem is that i cannot correctly initialize PORTA of PIC16F877a due to the ADC function sharing with the port. Because i want to used my PORTA as an input for my sensors which i cannot distinguish either analog or digital.

Is the common sensor which is compose of IR and Phototransistor output an analog or digital signal?

Klitzie said:
I just want to ask how to correctly initialize a PORT in PIC16F877a cause its my first time using usually i used PIC16F84A due to more inputs a shift to pic16f877a but my problem is that i cannot correctly initialize PORTA of PIC16F877a due to the ADC function sharing with the port. Because i want to used my PORTA as an input for my sensors which i cannot distinguish either analog or digital.

The datasheet expalins it, or you could check my tutorials.

Is the common sensor which is compose of IR and Phototransistor output an analog or digital signal?

Usually digital.

If you look in the data sheet it has this code snippet to setup port A.
Code:
	BCF	STATUS,RP0
	BCF	STATUS,RP1	; Bank0
	CLRF	PORTA		; Initialize PORTA by
				; clearing output
				; data latches
	BSF	STATUS, RP0	; Select Bank 1
	MOVLW	0x06		; Configure all pins