Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MPLAB C compilers

Status
Not open for further replies.

masoud23

Hi
I am a beginner to micro programming but have some experience of C programming. I have just downloaded and installed MPLAB IDE v8.66 and start reading in MPLAB IDE user’s guide. Now I have no experience on assembler programming and not so interested to learn it! I want to use C from the beginning. Now I haven’t read all in user guide but I have to know this right away! Are in MPLAB IDE v8.66 tools included for writing and compiling C? If so what is the use for MPLAB C compilers? If not so is there any free C compiler that is particularly suitable to use together with MPLAB IDE v8.66.

Tanks in advance

MPLAB does not include compilers but gives you the option to install some C compilers during MPLAB installation. These are separate products and not part of MPLAB.

There are no 'free' compilers but there are version that can be used without cost.

but how about the hi-tech picc 9.81 comes with the mplab-ide 8.66 , free of charge ? ... cannot use it as a c compiler for mplab ? ...

but how about the hi-tech picc 9.81 comes with the mplab-ide 8.66 , free of charge ? ... cannot use it as a c compiler for mplab ? ...

I had the hi-tech C compiler downloaded with MPLAB automatically. You should be able to use that. You can also download a student version of C18 from the microchip website if you are using an 18F chip. There are a few others that you can download for free, as well.