Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motorola spec. vs Microchip

Status
Not open for further replies.

mayo

I am an old programmer of PICs. I hear good coments about motorola microcontrollers, but I dont work with its.
How are Motorola microcontrollers compared with PICs ??
Peripherics (A/D, IIC, SPI) ??
Instructions set ??
Hardiness ??
C programing ??

I hear that motorola microcontrollers are designed for In Circuit Debug and Programmnig, and I am very interested in this.
Is true ?? How this work ??

All coments are welcome.
Thanks.

I hear that motorola microcontrollers are designed for In Circuit Debug and Programmnig, and I am very interested in this.
I don't know Motorola's, but I suppose they have JTAG programming/debugging interface (should be comparable to PICs).

Do you have any reason to switch from PIC? I don't think Motorola has such a wide colection of MCUs to chose from. (Comparing to Microchips MCU for every occasion, as you certainly know).

One guy over at AVRFreaks.org, who has worked with Motorola's HC08s in the past seems to think that Freescale (which now owns Motorola's uC division) are currently shooting themselves in the foot at every step they take to update the product line. Apparently some of their moves make the newer models completely incompatible with some of the original Motorolas...

I have a few Freescale/Motorola HC08 samples in a box if you want them :D Freesclae will be happy to send you some too :lol: