Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MOSFET STD85N3LH5 Bipolar Totem-pole Driver Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC23

Hi, I am a complete beginner in using MOSFET, so please bear with me.

As attached is my schematic. I am using ATtiny1617 as my IC which outputs a PWM signal around 200Hz.
I am trying to turn on and off the gate of my N-channel MOSFET STD85N3LH5 using the totem-pole configuration.

I have attached my signal as well.
CH1 yellow - Gate signal
CH2 blue - Vdrive

My issues:
1) I am expecting to get a 8V PWM on the gate signal but I am getting 5V instead. Is there something wrong with my understanding? Since I am supplying 8V to my VDRV.
2) The gate signal is not completely turned off, there is a slight delay as you can see from the waveform. Is it because of my PNP transistor selection?

Please kindly assist me.
Thank you.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-10-08 120359.jpg
    Screenshot 2021-10-08 120359.jpg
    112.4 KB · Views: 265
  • DS1Z_QucikPrint1.png
    DS1Z_QucikPrint1.png
    39.4 KB · Views: 237
A transistor connected as an emitter follower has no voltage gain; in fact in that configuration, you lose about 0.6 - 0.7V from both the maximum and minimum voltages.

To get operation "outside" the MCU supply, add another NPN transistor or small FET between the MCU and driver; base (via resistor) or gate driven from the MCU and the collector or drain having a pull-up resistor to the higher voltage supply.