Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

making a toggle switch help

Status
Not open for further replies.

vikas1974

Hi all

I wish to make toggle switch which will operate a 12 v relay ! When i press the button the relay gets in ON position and when i again press the same button the relay goes OFF . I am new in this field but I can make circuit if i know the components required. do i need 555-IC or 4011-IC. Please help me soon .

I also wanna design a simple Infra Red remote operated light . Please let me know the circuit diagram !

Try the diagram below. When the button is closed, the transistor sees +12 volts. When the button is open, the grounded 10K resistor allows the transistor to see 0v. The capacitor is there for debouncing, otherwise you will get glitches when the button opens and closes.

The 10K resistor going into the base of the transistor is there to limit the current. The transistor's emitter is grounded. One terminal of the relay is connected to +12v, the other is connected to the transistor's collector. There is a diode across the relay's terminals which may look like its backward. This is intentional. When the relay is on and working normally, the diode is not. But as soon as the button is released and the transistor turned off, the relay tries to keep the current going, and could fry the transistor. The diode allows the current to cycle around and dissipate while protecting the transistor.