Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Led help

Status
Not open for further replies.

eliteph33r

Hi i'm a little new to electric circuits and wiring and all that, so go easy on me plz. But anyway i was hoping someone could help. I have wired some batteries, LEDS, and resistors together to get some basic lighting and i can't seem to get them to light up.

diagram is as follows

[- 9v +]----[- 9v +]----[- 9v +]------(R 100Ω)--(R 100Ω)--(R 100Ω)-----[+ 3.5vLED -]-----(nextline)

[+ 3.5vLED -]-----[+ 3.5vLED -]------[+ 3.5vLED -]------[+ 3.5vLED -]------[+ 3.5vLED -]------[negative of 1st 9v]

While trying to troubleshoot i used the voltage meter and this is what i've found, but not sure what it means:

[- 9v +]----[- 9v +]----[- 9v +]-^28.8v -(R 100Ω)--(R 100Ω)--(R 100Ω)-^28.8v-[+ 3.5vLED1 -]-^22.2v-(nextline)

[+ 3.5vLED2 -]-^4v-[+ 3.5vLED3-]- ^1.2v-[+ 3.5vLED4-]------[+3.5vLED5-]------[+3.5vLED6-]------[negative of 1st 9v]

I'm Getting a very significant Voltage Loss inside LED#2

And an elevated Voltage loss at LED1, because it is only a 3.5v LED and It's losing 6.6v

If anyone can help it will be greatly appreciated

The circuit you have depicted should work and allow 20 mA through the LEDs which is about normal. It's interesting that there is no voltage drop across your 3 current limiting resistors. There should be 6V there. Have you tested each resistor and LED individually to see if you've got a bad component?