Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED controlled circuit for volume.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAR-HD

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie on here, and have a question that I can't figure out and would appreciate any help you can send my way.

I've been asked by a friend to see if I could come up with some sort of LED indicator box for one of our local churches. The purpose of this box is to alert the sound box operator at the back of the church to turn on the music and then to turn it up or down as requested by the director who will be in the front of the church. Now, the church is already wired for sound & such, so we have an XLR (3 wire) connector at the front of the church that they would like to use to connect the director's controller to. Then on the other end of that XLR cable (at the back) connect the indicator box so that the director can control the indicators.

So, here is what I'm thinking, but I'm not sure if I can do. For power, I would like to use a 120vac to 12vdc wall wart. on the indicator box.

I would like to be able to put a toggle switch (or pushbutton) on the controller box as well as some sort of switch or potentiometer for the volume command. So that when the director wants the music to start, they press the "start" switch (toggle, pushbutton, etc) and say LED #1 on the indicator box will fire. At that point the sound guy will turn the music on.