Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED Brake Lights (nOOb Question)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cypher--x

I want to add some LED brake lights to my street bike but I want them to do more then just turn off and on when power is applied.

I am very very new to electronics and have only done a few minor projects.

Here’s one:
YouTube - Rear peg LED turnlights

Since I am new to this I am trying get more advanced each time. What I want is to wire 9 LED's into the 9V brake light power line. I want all 9 LED's to light when brake is activated and the part I cannot figure out is I want them to turn off when the brake is released in a cascading sequence. I am not sure how to even look this up or what is needed to do this.

Example:

LED: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

I want it to turn off in this order:

1 & 9 then 2 & 8 then 3 & 7 then 4 & 6 then 5

I am not sure how to even start this. I thought it could be done with some capacitors but not really sure if I need some kind of timer or what is the best way to do this.

Can anyone help?? Provide a schematic?? Point me in the right direction??

An LM3914 is an LED voltmeter IC. It can drive two LEDs in series at each of its up to 10 outputs.

Charge a capacitor quickly at the input of the LM3914 then all the LEDs light quickly. Then discharge the capacitor through a resistor slowly and the LEDs turn off in a cascading manner.
Its max current is 30mA which might not be bright enough for your bike.