Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

learning basics of Matlab

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Hi

I have just installed Matlab and need your help to learn the basics.

I have some experience with C++ and have written some basic programs such as adding two matrices etc. C++ provides an interaction between a user and a computer. In other words, suppose you write down a program for addition of two 2x2 matrices, and when it's run it asks the user to enter the elements of both matrices, once we are done with entering the elements, it will pop up the resultant matrix. The way my instructor, who himself is quite new to Matlab, was showing the running of Matlab it looked like Matlab doesn't provide the interaction. Do there exist things like "cin" and "cout" in Matlab? If I'm wrong, then could you please give me some simple program for addition of two 2x2 matrices so that I can play around and learn it? Thank you.

Note: I don't know which forum this query really belongs to. If it's not relevant in this section, then please move it the right forum. Thanks.

Regards
PG

Last edited:
For input, you can use the 'input' function. For output, you can use the 'fprintf' function.

>> help input
input Prompt for user input.
R = input('How many apples') gives the user the prompt in the
text string and then waits for input from the keyboard.
The input can be any MATLAB expression, which is evaluated,
using the variables in the current workspace, and the result