Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Keypad Scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

usif

Hi, I am relatively new to this, and I can't got my head around keypad scanning.

Now, I understand the basics (i.e setup of a HEX keypad, and general idea of how to program it), however I just can't seem to understand how to do it in BoostC. What I'm asking for is a nudge in the right direction, or a quick brief of what needs to be done. What I am having trouble with is the delay time. Currently it 'skips' buttons.

Compiler: BoostC
MCU: PIC16F877A

I will post code once I get my laptop back, currently out of order :(

Last edited:
Hi Mike, I do have schematics although im using a developement board that i'm learning off, so everything is connected correctly.

**broken link removed**

Basically it's all connected using PORTC.
I have found my code on my desktop, however this was before I changed some things on the file on my laptop...both however give me the same problem.

Code:
/*    

4X4 KEY MATRIX

PORTCPIN  3  2  1  0              collumns are input pins

4      O  O  O  O
						 5      O  O  O  O
						 6      O  O  O  O
						 7      O  O  O  O 

LCD PIN ARRANGEMENT

JHD-162A

1    2   3   4  5 6   7  8   9   10  11  12  13   14  15  16
	VSS VCC VEE RS R/W E DB0 DB1 DB2 DB3 DB4 DB5 DB6 DB7 LED+ LED-

*/

#define LCD_ARGS  0, /* Interface type: mode 0 = 8bit, 1 = 4bit(low nibble), 2 = 4bit(upper nibble) */ \