Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible that the same transistor has different pinout in different units

Status
Not open for further replies.

hunted22

Hello all..

First of all, I gotta say that I'm a noob, so keep that in mind and take it easy on me.

1. I need to know how to figure out Base, Emitter and Collector of a transistor using a multimeter.

2. Is it possible that the same transistor has different pinout in different units? cuz I bought this transistor "2N 3906" and tested it to find the base pin (which is as far as my knowledge goes regarding finding trans pinout) I found that the base is on the side, but when I checked online, I found that this transistor's base is the middle pin.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
You should look at a manufacturer's datasheet to see which pin is which. Here it is:

Attachments

• 2N3906 pins.PNG
    2N3906 pins.PNG
    10.6 KB · Views: 5,847
thank you for responding..

I have no idea on this transistor's manufacturer.. I guess the only way is to figure out the pinout myself..

Anyone can direct me to link where this thing is simplified?? all of my search results were way over my head.

thank you for responding..

I have no idea on this transistor's manufacturer.. I guess the only way is to figure out the pinout myself..

Anyone can direct me to link where this thing is simplified?? all of my search results were way over my head.