1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Inexpensive solar panels.

Discussion in 'Renewable Energy' started by Hero999, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    yes well in my case 40 W of solar panel will be quite enough to keep things runnig saving me from the mains, during the summer i can use most of the power for the shed and the outhouse
     
  2. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    Outhouse?? In the year 2010?? Ha!

    I though you live in a civilized country now.
     
  3. Hero999

    Hero999 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes:
    79
    Location:
    England
    As I said before, they'll soon learn it's a fake and will ignore it. Pigions aren't as bright as crows but they're certainly not stupid.
    Pigeon intelligence - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    It's not practical to dig up the garden and the patio to lay a cable, then I'd have to worry about digging it up.

    Two 12V 14Ah batteries in series are way overkill for a pair of 8W tubes which will get used every now and then. I'll probably never have to replace the pannels, batteries or tubes, the whole thing should last for many years.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA

    I thought visier was going to be making a landscape from scratch, in which case I would lay a cable, otherwise, I'd just keep it above ground...
     
  6. Vizier87

    Vizier87 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes:
    12
    Location:
    Johor Bahru, Malaysia
    Mmm.. I'm not sure what you mean? :)
     
  7. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    well this is a 1940/50's ex council house, there is a small room just outside the kitchen door and the roof come accross to the house so it forms a little porch area for the back door, I would expect it was meant for storing wood or coal in days gone by, will make a good storage room or I may even dedicate it to PCB etching but there is also a shed that I've not looked at yet
     
  8. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    I am an old geezer. I remember burning coal to heat my parents' first home.
    Now my furnace burns natural gas that comes out of the ground like magic.
     
  9. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    yes well mine will also be heat by gas with a boiler that is just over a year old, the storage room has a concrete floor and really it's only any good for storing tools, just or doing something messy you don't want to plash everywhere
     
  10. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    My new furnace has 96% efficiency. It is condensing with a plastic exhaust pipe that puffs slightly warm and moist "air" out. It has a powerful variable speed DC motor for the fan. My government paid for half of the furnace and also for my new efficient air-conditioner.
     
  11. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    you need air conditioning in Canada ?
     
  12. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    In my part of Canada there are hot humid winds in summer that blow from the Gulf of Mexico and from deserts in the southern USA. So we need air conditioning.
     
  13. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    ah right I always thought of Canada as being cool but temperate in the summer
     
  14. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    Canada reaches up to the North pole where it is very cold but nobody lives there. Most Canadians live close to the US border so our climates are the same. The Great Lakes are huge and allow mild winter temperatures for me.
    In summer the sun is very high in the sky so it adds to the heating of the winds from the Gulf of Mexico and from the deserts of the southern USA.
     
  15. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Are you a weatherman? :D
     
  16. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    I check the weather on TV twice a day. I watch the satellite videos of weather moving and guess when rain will begin and when it will end. Sometimes I am more accurate than the real weatherman.
     
  17. bryan1

    bryan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes:
    46
    Location:
    Adelaide Hills Sth Oz
    Eh Thunderchild deckout your out house and rent it to hero after all if he doesn't get a job soon that out house will be first class accommodation and he can have our esteemed global weatherguru do all the weather reports.......
     
  18. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think 1 sqm will do but as he only lives 20 miles away and we know each other anyhow he's welcome over anytime :D
     
  19. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,580
    Likes:
    950
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    ONLINE
    I have never seen an outhouse. How is the weather inside an outhouse when it is snowing outside?
    How do you wash your hands in an outhouse? Do you brush your teeth in an outhouse?
     
  20. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    My grandmother used to have a two seater, you could go with a friend! :p

    Back when I was little I can remember the council lorry coming to empty the outhouses, they used to come around dinnertime on a Wednesday where I lived.

    You don't! :D
     
  21. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    pretty dang cold I should think, perhaps outhouse is the wrong word for it and your certainly cannot go to the loo in it or wash your hands/teeth, however if your caught on the hop there is a loo cubicle btween the "outhouse" and the back door and shares the extended roof
     

Share This Page