1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

How to reset "Child lock" on TV without remote

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by catalinu, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. catalinu

    catalinu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    2
    Hello,
    I just bought a TV (made by INDTEK for LG, model LT-15BU10) and all controls are locked. When I press any button on the TV it says "Child Lock". I have no remote on it. Is it a way to reset this option? I opened the TV, but no "switch" on the PCB to do a "reset to factory". I can try to find a remote for it, but have no idea what processor it use, because the heater is glued on the processor.

    Any advice?
    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,324
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    You almost certainly need the remote, and also the service manual that hopefully will tell you how to unlock it, however an instruction manual might tell you as well.
     
  3. catalinu

    catalinu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    2
    Unfortunately the service manual says nothing about this... I already verified. I suppose that "Child lock" apply only on buttons on the TV, not on the remote... I also hope that the remote will solve the problem, but I don't want to spend 50$ for a remote and then to see that the problem is deeper...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA

    Wow, that's a hell of a problem! :eek:

    If you leave the TV unplugged for say, overnight, I believe the TV will 'forget' it's memory. Or unplug it AND take out battery in it. It's like a watch battery size.

    You could also potentially buy a cheaper universal remote, and use that to turn off the child lock...
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  6. catalinu

    catalinu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    2
    hmmm. I left it few days, but nothing... (without food inside... not in TV :), but in fridge, because this is an LG fridge with LCD TV... LSC27990TT)

    I just ordered an universal remote (the X10 IconRemote), I will see if it will works...
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. mneary

    mneary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes:
    67
    Location:
    California USA
    On many devices, pressing and holding the POWER or START button for 3-5 seconds will set or release a tamper lock.
     
  8. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Oh! And some/many tvs have a universal code that will work, regardless of what code the user set as well. 0000, 1234, 1111, simple things like that...

    Plus - maybe the original person set a simple code like that, there are only 9999 possibilities!:D
     
  9. catalinu

    catalinu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    2
    The buttons on TV are locked (also the soft power button and the menu). I will check the codes when I will receive the remote. If I consider trying one code at each 2 seconds, that means 5 hours and half... Good job for my kids. I hope that it will not definitively lock after x attempts, and I hope also that I will not skip a number... You know, Murphy law: it will be exactly the good one...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I highly doubt the TV will have a permanent lock after x tries. Only my safe does that!

    On cracking the code: I would first try easy numbers like 1234, etc. Then do a straight run from 0000 to 9999. Once you get going, you'll get faster.

    Trust me, I know... :eek:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. cowana

    cowana New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes:
    5
    What's the latest?

    Have you had any luck?

    Andrew
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Birdman Adam

    Birdman Adam New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    He's probably furiously typing in all the codes as we speak... :)
     
  13. Hero999

    Hero999 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes:
    79
    Location:
    England
    This reminds me when a work colleague spent days cracking a combination lock because he didn't have any work to do.
     
  14. catalinu

    catalinu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    2
    Sorry for delay. Fortunately for me, with the X10 IconRemote works as a charm. A code scan founds a matching code and I was able to get into the menu by remote and to disable the Child lock...
     
  15. Hero999

    Hero999 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes:
    79
    Location:
    England
    Yay, now you can watch all the violence, p0rn and drug scenes you like. :D
     
  16. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    walterpress1970, do you realize you just reopened a 1 1/2 year old thread? I strongly recommend you just start a new one. It helps keep everything neat and tidy :D

    Regards,
    Der Strom
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2013
  17. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,966
    Likes:
    1,099
    Hero:

    That takes me about 20 minutes for a simple combo. I developed the algorithm about 30 years ago when I was bored.
     
  18. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes:
    507
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    KISS, that post was from april of last year :D
     
  19. TZL

    TZL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
  20. unclejed613

    unclejed613 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes:
    99
    often, factory default passwords are 0000, 9999, 8888, etc, along with 1234 and 4321 being common. try the ones that would be "shortcut" passwords first before trying the sequential trial and error method. use a modified sequential method i.e. 0001, 9998, 0002, 9997..... this would only be quicker if the actual password is not somewhere around 5000....

    a few years ago back sony had one that was S-O-N-Y spelled out on a phone keypad
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
  21. TZL

    TZL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    Actually, what I have inadvertently enabled is the child lock (not parental lock) on my Magnavox 27MS343S as a result of which the front panel is disabled. Now, I can't hit the front panel"power" button manually, and so it stays in a standby mode when plugged in. Since I don't have the remote, I can't access the Menu to disable the child lock. I ordered a replacement remote and also tried a universal remote, but no use. I wonder if these remotes need the TV to be "on" and not on standby to work.
     

Share This Page