Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to identify a failing Cathode Ray Tube?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone - first time newbie here! I've had an interest in electronics since I was a kid, but broke more stuff than I fixed. Now trying to make my interest of practical use...

I've acquired a broadcast video monitor, probably 30-35 years old, and I'd like to have a bash at tracing the fault and trying to repair it. However, the symptoms it's displaying, and it's age, make me think it has a failing CRT - and there's no way in hell I'm ever going to get it running again. I'm figuring it's either the tube that's about to fail, or a (potentially replaceable) component elsewhere. Check the video of the raster I put on YouTube, and let me know if I'd be better just scrapping this and finding a new project. Thanks.

https://youtu.be/9Md0j7WGCSo

I dont think the fault is the CRT. I suspect the power supply to the line and field timebases. It could be the power to the line timebase as this also generates the EHT supply for the tube. If the EHT voltage drops the beam is easier to deflect so it can increase the width of the picture. It could be caused by decoupling capacitors on these power rails. I find testing capacitors in the scanning department with an ESR meter that gives good results with the capacitors in circuit a quick way to eliminate faulty capacitors before taking a more logical approach to the problem.

Les.