Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How does a buffer work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

darksky1

Hi, i'm an electronics noob.. anyway, i've been trying to understand buffers but i'm confused.. i found it hard to find links which describe in detail each part of the buffer..datasheets aren't helping me much

from the SN74LS240 buffer datasheet for example i see that each input has some kind of inverting opamp, is this for amplifying current? for ex. connecting a stepper motor to the output and microcontroller to the input?

it states this on the datasheet:

Features:
n 3-STATE outputs drive bus lines directly
n PNP inputs reduce DC loading on bus lines
n Hysteresis at data inputs improves noise margins
n Typical IOL (sink current)
24 mA
n Typical IOH (source current)
-15 mA
n Typical propagation delay times
Inverting 10.5 ns
Noninverting 12 ns
n Typical enable/disable time 18 ns
n Typical power dissipation (enabled)
Inverting 130 mW
Noninverting 135 mW

but i'm not really understanding any of this, could someone provide me with some links which will improve my understanding of buffers? would be appreciated

Its output current is much too low for it to drive a stepper motor. It buffers logic signals that are only 4mA.
Your motor might draw hundreds of mA or maybe a few Amps.

ok so it won't drive a stepper motor but never mind that, that was just a random example

**broken link removed**