help with a toggled IR proximity sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

urkidn

im a noob at eletronics but trying to make a "toggled" ir proximity sensor so i can turn on and off my lights in my room by waving my hand in front of my switch like 100-150mm i know how to make the ir senser,
i know how to make the relay switch my lights just im stuck on how to make a toggled switch by a pulse of voltage from the ir senser so it stays on all the time till i wave again to turn it off

please help me thank you

hi,
You need a latch, thats you can 'toggle'. How much space do you have in the switch housing.?
A CD4013 dual F/F will run from 3V thru 12V ok.

QUOTE=urkidn;983977]i got heaps like 90mm in a wall cav[/QUOTE]

hi,
If you post your IR sensor circuit, also showing it's power supply, we will show you how to add a latch.

ir pic

QUOTE=urkidn;983977]i got heaps like 90mm in a wall cav

hi,
If you post your IR sensor circuit, also showing it's power supply, we will show you how to add a latch.[/QUOTE]

Attachments

• IR_proximity_sensor.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 4,548
Ok , copied that.
Do you have a circuit for actually switching the light On/Off after the 'new' latch.? or is the circuit you posted all you have.??
I thought you had a working system that just required a latching/toggle part.?

i was trying to find a way for that circuit to toggle something to drive my relay then the relay switches 240 volts
Ok , copied that.
Do you have a circuit for actually switching the light On/Off after the 'new' latch.? or is the circuit you posted all you have.??
I thought you had a working system that just required a latching/toggle part.?

Last edited:
hi,
OK, I will draw up a circuit.
After the photo detector you will require simple amplifier to sharpen up the signal to make suitable for clocking a F/F,, the F/F will drive a transistor which will in turn drive a 5Vdc coil relay