Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with a project - controlling a relay remotely by SMS

Status
Not open for further replies.

rengler

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some advice. I'm a journeyman electrician, so I am familiar with electricity and circuits, and I have taken some electronics training during my technical schooling, but that was almost 20 years ago, and I don't have much practical experience with electronics since then. I don't really have any programming experience.

I have an idea for a project, but I need some advice on how to proceed. I am looking for a method of turning on and turning off a 1200W, 120V AC electric heater from a location that is about 20km away. My idea is to use a GMS modem, connected to a microcontroller, connected to relay that has a contact rating that is adequate for switching the load of the heater. I would like to be able to send an SMS message to the GSM modem, which would communicate with the microcontroller, which would send an output to energize the relay, which would switch on the heater. I could the send a second SMS message which would turn off the heater. The heater would be used to preheat an aircraft engine without the need to actually drive to the hangar the night before a flight to turn on the heater.