Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with a LED flasher circuit. Schematic inside.

Status
Not open for further replies.

oneslowz28

I am very new to this and wish to build a circuit that will flash 5 pairs of LEDs at variable rates. To do this I designed a circuit using 5 NE555 timers. To control the variable flash rate I want to use trim pots. I am having a hard time figuring out where to lay out the trim pot and what value to use. Can some one please help me? I have attached a screen cap of the schematic I designed in eagle.

**broken link removed**

I've had a couple of beers, so maybe I'm not seeing this right, but it looks to me as if the top row of Leds are the wrong way round. It looks like the lower row will light when the output is high, but if the top row is meant to light on output low, they are the wrong way round.
Back to my beer :D

Jim

Yes, all the LEDs are shown backwards.
Also, a resistor is missing at each 555 from pin 7 to the positive supply that would have a trimpot in series to adjust each frequency.
The 10uf capacitors must be connected to ground.
The circuit should have a supply bypass capacitor.

As noted above, there are several errors in your schematic. Here is an online calculator so you can choose your timing component values:
**broken link removed**