Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help this newbie with a Fender Frontman 15R

Status
Not open for further replies.

reelguitars

Hey guys, I'm brand new at trying to fix these things but have been playing guitar longer than I care to remember. I have a little Frontman 15R that took a little extra voltage through the input jack when one of the plugs of my One Spot pedal power unit came into contact with one of the metal cases on one of my pedals. Blew the fuse. Replaced the fuse and now, turn it on, it blows the fuse. I'm do work for the phone company so I know there's either a short or something's grounded. I wanted to isolate the power supply circuit, the preamp circuit, and the amp circuit to see where it was. So far, not having much luck. Someone want to offer an old dog a new trick? Thanks, David

I'll presume it's solid state: pull all of the output transistors and see if it still blows fuse.

If ok, find some way to test, find and replace the bad ones (probably in pairs).
If still pops fuse, you'll probably need the schematic to keep removing powered stages.

First things first. Disconnect the secondaries of the transformer from the board (P5, 6 & 7) and power it up and measure the secondaries, you are looking for around 16V-0V-16V. If all is ok, then measure Diodes CR7-10 and then 15V Zener Diodes CR11 & 12, if those are ok, check for a short to ground on pins 3 & 5 of U4 (TDA2050) and Diodes CR5 & 6. These are the most likely culprits. Good hunting :)

Last edited: