Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help/opinion needed for Luxeon III project...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Apomike

Hi everyone,
First, I'll admit, I am a NooB. I haven't really done anything electronic since physics II in university, and even that was limited to basic understanding. I hope some of you can bear with this post, and hopefully, thread.

I'm trying to build a bright display for my babies' room using Luxeon III's as illumination. It will be multicolored, don't know if it will be a rainbow, or a lightning bolt, but there will be a (white) illuminated cloud, too.
I'm using Luxeon III's, because they are basically free at work, as long as I can prove I used them, not sold them.

My problem, of course, is the driver. I saw the Xitaniums sold by futureelectronics, but I understand they can only handle 4 LEDs at a time, and would be expensive. The buck pucks seem the same. I really want to get this in under the wife's budget, and nose!

Here's the data for the LEDs, so you don't have to look at the info elsewhere:

At 700mA blues, greens have a forward voltage of 3.03 (min), 3.7 (avg), and 4.47(max)

At 1400mA, (I'll only run them at 1000) reds, oranges, amber have a forward voltage of 2.31 (min), 2.95 (avg), and 3.51(max)

I saw some drivers at www.hobbytron.de from **broken link removed**. They caught my interest because they cost only 16 euros each...

HKO700 constant current power source

startup ca. 5.8V (for one 3 Watts LED)
drop:ca. 2.5V