Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.

welshvicar

Hi all,
I am new to electronics and need some help please
I have a project that requires a magnet to turn on a motor and stay on until the magnet is used to turn the motor of again
it is a small motor running of a 9 volt battery.
the plan was to use a read switch and pass the magnet over the reed to turn the motor on and off ( but I have been told I would be better off using a hall sensor ) the problem I have is how to keep the motor on. space is also an issue so would need to be as small as possible

welshvicar said:
but I have been told I would be better off using a hall sensor

Firstly..... Do we have real clergy here???

Secondly.... Who told you this.... If you can do this with a reed switch... Then do so... A hall sensor is basically the same thing anyway....Also you can get more current through a reed switch...

I would use a D Flip Flop like a CD4013 configured as a divide by two and let a reed switch pulse the flip flop clock input. Pass a magnet over the reed switch and the motor turns on, pass the magnet over the reed switch again and the motor turns off. The flip flop output would drive a transistor which would drive the small DC motor. I would use a reed switch and you include a a debounce circuit (only a few components) to clean up the reed switch. There are any number of ways to do what you seem to be looking to do.

Ron

Welcome to the forum!