Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help needed identifying diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cupra

Hi all,

This is my first post and I am a complete novice when it come to electronics but I am hoping you guys can assist.

On the attached quad copter control board the magic smoke appeared after connecting the a 5v line to a signal line in error... After expecting the board the diode was damaged. I need to replace the diode but don’t know how to identify the correct replacement for it. Please can someone assist in advising where I can find a replacement this diode...? It seems to have the number 15 on it but i do not know what this means?

View attachment 67850
View attachment 67852

Thanks

what diode? your arrow points to via. further away are three small SMD capacitors (non polarized) and one tantalum capacitor (yellow device, polarized).
if you are asking about component inside yellow rectangle on the left side, it is must likely Schottky diode.

Last edited:
i thought so after posting reply. that is why i edited it...

anyway, the top side seem to be marked as cathode and connected to track marked 5V (if my eyes can be trusted).
most likely options could be Schottky diode for getting 5V from USB port or zener diode if anode was connected to GND.
it does not seem to be tied to GND because there is large ground plane right next to it. also track seem to go towards USB port...